Being a Blonde..

beauty, diy, Uncategorized

For as long as I can remember I have always dyed my hair and changed its colour. I’ve been brunette to blonde to red back to blonde to purple.. You get the idea. Well, for a while now I’ve been blonde and I’ve stuck to it. Although in the near future I am hoping to go grey / lilac.

Recently I’ve been bleaching my hair at home, which I know is a big faux pas. however, surprisingly its still in great condition so I thought I’d share the products and routine I use to achieve white blonde hair.

The main product is the bleach. I use a box die, and I know a lot of people are sat there cringing. I’m sorry, I’m a student. I can’t afford a £50 hair trip each month.

On that note, I don’t actually dye my hair every month. More like once every three months. I usually wait until my roots are embarrassingly long and have to do something about it.

The box die I use is the Loreal Feria in Extreme Platinum Power, which is the lightest shade I can find. I cover my ends in a hair mask or an oil to keep them protected as they don’t need to be bleach again.

It’s important to remember to never, ever put bleach over the hair which is always white as this will just make it brittle and snap. It’s also a lot easier to get someone else to do it for you! image1 (1)

(Ps. Excuse the colour of my hands, Its just fake tan!)

From here I follow the dye instructions to a T, and when it comes to washing it out I always double cleanse with a shampoo and put a deep conditioner on the ends to restore and moisture lost.

If you’ve ever bleached your hair before you’ve probably noticed that it pulls a brassy/orangy colour. To counteract this you can use a toner or a purple shampoo. My favorite is the Fudge Clean Blonde Shampoo and Conditioner set. Do be careful when using this as man of times I have died the ends of my hair purple from leaving it on too long. However when this does happen it just creates a beautiful ombre so it isn’t too bad. You can see from the photo above how dark this shampoo is!

Following on, two or three times a week I will use a deep conditioner and use my toning shampoo once every other week.

What is your favorite hair mask? I’d love to try out some more as I haven’t yet found that perfect one.

Harley Jade x

 

 

Leave a Reply

